Book Review: Chasing the White Lion by James R Hannibal

I’m not gonna lie – I was itching to grab a copy of James R. Hannibal’s recent release Chasing the White Lion and join in on this blog tour with Lone Star Lit. Chasing the White Lion is the exciting sequel to The Gryphon Heist, and it did NOT disappoint. If you are a fan of spy thrillers, this is the book for you.

Read on to learn more about the book, read my review, and enter the fabulous giveaway! Thanks to Lone Star Book Blog Tour and the author for providing me with an advance e-copy of the book.

graphic for Chasing the White Lion

CHASING THE WHITE LION
(Talia Inger, Book Two)
by
JAMES R. HANNIBAL

Genre: Contemporary Christian / Thriller / Suspense
Publisher: Revell
Date of Publication: March 3, 2020
Number of Pages: 384

Scroll down for the giveaway!

Cover image for Chasing the White Lion


Young CIA officer Talia Inger has reconciled with the man who assassinated her father, but that doesn’t mean she wants him hovering over her every move and unearthing the painful past she’s trying to put behind her. Still, she’ll need him–and the help of his star grifter, Valkyrie–if she hopes to infiltrate the Jungle, the first ever crowdsourced crime syndicate, to rescue a group of kidnapped refugee children.

But as Talia and her elite team of thieves con their way into the heart of the Jungle, inching ever closer to syndicate boss the White Lion, she’ll run right up against the ragged edge of her family’s dark past. In this game of cat and mouse, it’s win . . . or die. And in times like that, it’s always good to have someone watching your back.

Former tactical deception officer and stealth pilot James Hannibal takes you deep undercover into the criminal underworld where everyone has an angle, and no one escapes unscathed.

WANT TO BE A REAL HERO?

Want to be a real hero? Compassion International, a real organization fighting child poverty, stars in Chasing the White Lion. By giving hope and a sense of identity to these kids, they’re helping families slam the door on human traffickers. A portion of every book sold will go to support Compassion’s work. You can join the fight simply by buying a copy of Chasing the White Lion.

CLICK TO PURCHASE CHASING THE WHITE LION

Baker Book House Amazon Barnes & Noble
Christianbook.com Kobo Books-A-Million
Additional Retailers 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Wow, wow, wow! Chasing the White Lion was one heck of a page-turner and an exciting ride! A follow-up novel to The Gryphon Heist (which I reviewed here), we return to CIA agent Talia and her crew of thieves as they continue their hunt for the baddie that was responsible for her father’s death AND in the process take down a syndicate of bad guys. This story has a complicated and layered plot that whips along at lightning speed, features lots of cool tech, high-speed chases, smart dialogue, and fascinating characters.

While this plot is very action-driven, I felt like Hannibal also gave us some great character development. This story brought us closer to Finn and Val, two of my favorite characters from the previous book (along with Mac, whose character always makes me laugh).

What happens when a con faces up to what they’ve done? This was also a story with a lot of heart, and one that spoke to self-acceptance, self-forgiveness, (while delivering up a dose of retribution), and family, in its own way. You wouldn’t expect a fast-paced spy thriller to cross with Christian fiction, but it’s there, and it works in a way that isn’t overbearing or preachy.

This book is perfect for fans of Dan Brown and Tom Clancy, and while the author leaves us with no loose ends, I’m hoping we haven’t seen the last of Talia and her crew of thieves.

Graphic for Chasing the White Lion
James R Hannibal, author of Chasing the White Lion


Former stealth pilot James R. Hannibal is a two-time Silver Falchion Award winner for his Section 13 mysteries for kids and a Thriller Award nominee for his Nick Baron covert ops series for adults. James is a rare multi-sense synesthete, meaning all of his senses intersect. He sees and feels sounds and smells and hears flashes of light. He lives in Houston, Texas.

Website   Facebook
Twitter   Instagram   Bookbub
Goodreads   Amazon Author Page

GIVEAWAY!  

GRAND PRIZE: Copy of Both Books in the Talia Inger Series
+ Bookstore Candle + $10 Starbucks Gift Card; 
SECOND PRIZE: Copy of Both Books in the Talia Inger Series
+ $20 Barnes and Noble Gift Card;
THIRD PRIZE: Copy of Both Books in the Talia Inger Series + $10 Starbucks Gift Card

March 3-13, 2020
(U.S. Only)

giveaway image for Chasing the White Lion
a Rafflecopter giveaway

VISIT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:

3/3/20 Top Five List Forgotten Winds
3/3/20 Review Chapter Break Book Blog
3/4/20 Author Video Kelly Well Read
3/5/20 Review Reading by Moonlight
3/6/20 Review The Clueless Gent
3/6/20 Excerpt Story Schmoozing Book Reviews
3/7/20 Character Interview Max Knight
3/8/20 Excerpt All the Ups and Downs
3/9/20 Review Missus Gonzo
3/9/20 Author Interview StoreyBook Reviews
3/10/20 Review Momma on the Rocks
3/11/20 Review Book Fidelity
3/11/20 Excerpt That’s What She’s Reading
3/12/20 Review Hall Ways Blog
3/12/20 Notable Quotable Sybrina’s Book Blog
blog tour services provided by

Intrigued by all the references to The Gryphon Heist, previously featured here and in a Lone Star Lit blog tour? Read all about it:

Comments

  1. Great review — I’m with you that although it was full of action, the character development gave us some new depth. And yeah, that neatly tied up ending makes me nervous there’s no 3rd book coming!! Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: