WIRW Summer Middle Schooler Edition
IMG_3888
IMG_0339
Vanished Pin
IMG_3920
WIRW Summer Middle Schooler Edition

What I’m Reading Wednesday: The Summer Middle-Schooler Edition

Both of my kids are avid readers, and while for my eight-year-old any book involving princesses, fairies, or animals having an adventure, she’s in. My ten-year-old is a tougher nut to crack. Historically he hasn’t been a fan of science fiction/fantasy, so no amount of reasoning could get him to try the Harry Potter series [Read On]

IMG_3888

On Putting Myself First . Or Fifty-second.

I suck at putting myself first. Or second. Or fifty-second, for that matter. Is this a mom thing? Or just me. As I lay on the table at my physical therapy appointment on Wednesday, the therapist attacking my leg (technically, my iliotibial band, which I still haven’t actually located anatomically yet) with what looks like [Read On]

IMG_0339

On the best laid birthday plans

Ah, the best laid plans…. You see, I am actually NOT a fan of breakfast in bed. Ok, I’m not a fan of breakfast in my OWN bed. Crumbs, spills, a comforter too big to fit into my washing machine. You know who has to clean that shit up? (Never mind the kitchen.) Yes, me. [Read On]

Vanished Pin

What I’m Reading Wednesday: Vanished

  Are you a mystery fan???  Well, this week’s pick is an excellent, stay up late ’til ya’ finish romantic thriller: Vanished by Kendra Elliot. Fans of Carla Neggers, Lisa Jackson, Nora Roberts and/or Karen Robards will love this book as Elliot successfully meshes an intense mystery/thriller with a blooming romance. Initially, the story is about an eleven [Read On]

IMG_3920

Around Chicago: A Night out at Medieval Times

Disclosure: I have been compensated with tickets and a goody bag to attend this event. All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own. It is full steam ahead into another hot Chicago summer, and we’ve been searching for something new and different to do as a family. So when I was given the opportunity to go [Read On]

TheHouseWeGrewUpIn Pin

What I’m Reading Wednesday: The House We Grew Up In

  This week’s pick is a family drama by British author Lisa Jewell, titled The House We Grew Up In. A compelling, complex family drama that was so very different from the book description (you might wonder if I’m just rubbish at reading the description, but no), I was quickly drawn into both the story [Read On]

What I'm Reading Wednesday

What I’m Reading Wednesday: Alias Hook

Wahoo! It is Wednesday, and I have a fun book for you today! This week I want to tell you all about Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen.   If you are a fan of Wicked by Gregory McGuire and other reinvented fairy tales, and are a fan of historical fiction, I think you will really enjoy Alias [Read On]

GraceUnderPressure

She Was Grace Under Pressure

Recently on Interstate-90, just south of where I live, a woman named Heidi Conner was cruising along in her minivan with her kids. As she drove underneath an overpass, a deer came crashing through her windshield. Witnesses confirmed it had jumped OFF of the overpass. Yes. It dropped in from the sky. Kind of. In [Read On]

What I'm Reading Wednesday

What I’m Reading Wednesday: The Girl With All The Gifts

I’ve been on a bit of “dystopian fiction” bender lately. I promise that I’m going to be changing gears next week, but before I do, I’m ending with a big BANG. This week’s pick is the just-published The Girl With All The Gifts. Let me start by saying that I was totally mistaken about what [Read On]

Summer Survival plan

My Summer Survival Plan

I’m not even one week into summer vacation, and the writing is on the wall. Forget about keeping my kids entertained. My goal is going to be keeping MY sanity this summer and reaching the start of school without a full head of gray hair. The battle has begun. The survival plan needed to be [Read On]