When World Baking Day and Pack Rat Day Collide

Hello! Today, May 17, is World Baking Day, which would be more fun if I wasn’t eating in a lazy keto manner, because I don’t care what you say, baking keto is just not as much fun as baking like a person who can eat whatever they want and not worry about where the carbs [Read On]

How To Survive A Broken Foot While in a WalkingBoot

As I mentioned last week, I recently broke my right foot and I’m wearing a walking boot (some call it an AirCast) for the next 3 or more weeks. This isn’t my first rodeo with a foot in a boot – I suffered a broken foot in an equally embarrassing manner when I lived in [Read On]

10 Things My Mother Taught Me

*Today’s post is from Mother’s Day 2011 as it’s one of my favorite Mother’s Day posts, and it still holds true. Happy Mother’s Day to all my readers who have joined the rank of “Mom”, whichever way brought you here.*   There are SO many things we learn from our mothers: to tie our shoes, [Read On]

Common Sense Not Included

Recently my son received what the doctors determined was a “possible” mild concussion. As in, he passed the brief “follow my finger” concussion testing, but he had a bad headache and struggled to concentrate the next day in school. Possibly is the word to note here, because my son and I had vastly different ideas [Read On]

A Dancer’s Fracture? Oh, the Irony.

Without a moment to lose, I dashed into the street, swooping aside the toddler who had wandered in front of the delivery truck barreling down on us, shoving him aside as I…. Nope. I was high upon the wall at the climbing gym when my harness failed…. Nah. Everyone knows I hate heights.  I was [Read On]

Lone Star Book Blog Tour Review and Giveaway: The Way of Beauty

I am so excited to bring you Camille De Maio’s newest book The Way of Beauty with the Lone Star Book Blog Tour. If you’ve read her previous books, you will not be disappointed. This is wonderful for fans of historical fiction AND for fans of authors such as Kristina McMorris or Sarah McCoy. Read [Read On]

Book Review: The Lemonade Year

Looking for a change of pace from my recent reads, the gift of book mail in the form of  The Lemonade Year by Amy Willoughby-Burle filled the bill nicely.  This book was emotional, complex, and beautifully written. Check it out:   The Lemonade Year by Amy Willoughby-Burle is a wonderfully written story about family and [Read On]

Stuck

He turned to me with a request that would appear odd to an outsider, given his size relative to me. “Mom, can you help me get the lid off of this ice cream? It’s stuck.” This is a kid who routinely needs help opening the lids to various jars and bottles, and it amuses me [Read On]

Lone Star Book Blog Tour: Searching For Pilar (Review & Giveaway)

Today on the blog I’m covering a book that, living in Dallas along what I’ve discovered is a major highway for human trafficking, I approached with some trepidation. However, between a truly gripping story line, believable characters and a fast pace, this debut novel by Patricia Hunt Holmes kept me turning pages – even when [Read On]

Thoughts From My Third Erma Bombeck Writers’ Conference

When I was a kid, time was measured in countdowns – how many days until summer vacation, until my birthday, until Santa came. As an adult, time is still measured the same – how many days until I turn 50 (75, should anyone want to send me chocolate), until my next hair appointment where I [Read On]