100footjourneyonesheet
Image 1
What I'm Reading Wednesday
WIRW Summer Middle Schooler Edition
IMG_3888
100footjourneyonesheet

In honor of “The Hundred Foot Journey”: What Bite Takes You Home?

Ever since my lovely librarian/blogger cousin Kathy posted a list of books that would be made into movies in 2014 and I first read the description of The Hundred Foot Journey, I was hooked. Then, when I read the book, I fell in love. (In fact, I was all ready to link up to the review [Read On]

Image 1

Fun: An American Girl Isabelle Dances Into the Spotlight Screening Party

For the first 7-1/2 years of her life, my daughter steadfastly ignored all the dolls she was given – or asked for, for that matter,  except for the one that cried when it got sick or hungry, because you couldn’t ignore THAT doll. (Or you can’t until you pull the batteries out. Bad Mommy.) However, ever since [Read On]

What I'm Reading Wednesday

What I’m Reading Wednesday: Never Google Heartbreak

It’s time for What I’m Reading Wednesday! Yay! Are you looking for a light beach read?  If you are a fan of British authors Sophie Kinsella and Helen Fielding, check out Never Google Heartbreak by Emma Garcia. I think we’ve all been there (or had a friend that has been there) – dumped and going through [Read On]

WIRW Summer Middle Schooler Edition

What I’m Reading Wednesday: The Summer Middle-Schooler Edition

Both of my kids are avid readers, and while for my eight-year-old any book involving princesses, fairies, or animals having an adventure, she’s in. My ten-year-old is a tougher nut to crack. Historically he hasn’t been a fan of science fiction/fantasy, so no amount of reasoning could get him to try the Harry Potter series [Read On]

IMG_3888

On Putting Myself First . Or Fifty-second.

I suck at putting myself first. Or second. Or fifty-second, for that matter. Is this a mom thing? Or just me. As I lay on the table at my physical therapy appointment on Wednesday, the therapist attacking my leg (technically, my iliotibial band, which I still haven’t actually located anatomically yet) with what looks like [Read On]

IMG_0339

On the best laid birthday plans

Ah, the best laid plans…. You see, I am actually NOT a fan of breakfast in bed. Ok, I’m not a fan of breakfast in my OWN bed. Crumbs, spills, a comforter too big to fit into my washing machine. You know who has to clean that shit up? (Never mind the kitchen.) Yes, me. [Read On]

Vanished Pin

What I’m Reading Wednesday: Vanished

  Are you a mystery fan???  Well, this week’s pick is an excellent, stay up late ’til ya’ finish romantic thriller: Vanished by Kendra Elliot. Fans of Carla Neggers, Lisa Jackson, Nora Roberts and/or Karen Robards will love this book as Elliot successfully meshes an intense mystery/thriller with a blooming romance. Initially, the story is about an eleven [Read On]

IMG_3920

Around Chicago: A Night out at Medieval Times

Disclosure: I have been compensated with tickets and a goody bag to attend this event. All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own. It is full steam ahead into another hot Chicago summer, and we’ve been searching for something new and different to do as a family. So when I was given the opportunity to go [Read On]

TheHouseWeGrewUpIn Pin

What I’m Reading Wednesday: The House We Grew Up In

  This week’s pick is a family drama by British author Lisa Jewell, titled The House We Grew Up In. A compelling, complex family drama that was so very different from the book description (you might wonder if I’m just rubbish at reading the description, but no), I was quickly drawn into both the story [Read On]

What I'm Reading Wednesday

What I’m Reading Wednesday: Alias Hook

Wahoo! It is Wednesday, and I have a fun book for you today! This week I want to tell you all about Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen.   If you are a fan of Wicked by Gregory McGuire and other reinvented fairy tales, and are a fan of historical fiction, I think you will really enjoy Alias [Read On]